Optical Communication

 

Advantages of Using Infini-LightTM Broad-Band Light Source:

We provide the most cost-effect and highest performance optical fiber broad-band light sources for the telecomm and datacomm industry for manufacturing, testing, and qualifying fiber optics products (such as WDM, splitter, isolator, circulator, and optical switch, etc.) that require spectral measurement across a broad wavelength range. In order to meet the stringent industrial standards, Infinon Research uses several proprietary electrical and optical elements to construct the Infini-LightTM broad-band source and deliver unprecedented performance compared to products offered by other industrial leaders. The following sections describe in details the advantages of using this broad-band light source as compared to other type of equipments.

 

Best Technology
There are several different technologies to deliver broad-band light into a single-mode fiber. The first one is using tungsten-halogen filament to create a white-light radiation and couple into a single-mode fiber with a high power lens. This type of source provides a true broad-band light (from UV to IR) with relatively flat spectrum. However, due to the energy density limitation that can be created by the filament, typically the power that can be collected by the single-mode fiber is about -55dBm/nm in the 1550nm IR range, which is too small to support high dynamic range measurement for DWDM components using common optical spectrum analyzers (OSA). The second technology is light-emitting-diode (LED), which can deliver -15dBm of total energy into a single-mode fiber. It has a Gaussian-shape spectrum, typically with ~50nm of half-maximum width. This means that the optical power at wavelength peak is about -35dBm/nm, and decreases toward the side-bands. Although its optical density is ~100 times larger than the filament white-light source, the energy level at its side-bands is still too low for today’s DWDM testing systems. The third one is amplified-spontaneous-emission (ASE) source from rare-earth ion doped fiber which is optically pumped at another wavelength and radiates the broadband light when the rare-earth ions relax from their excited state to a lower energy state. This source can deliver high optical density (>-20dBm/nm) within the ion emission spectral window if pumped with high energy. However, the spectral width is comparably small (<50nm wide), and one needs different ion-doped fiber to cover different wavelength ranges.
The last, and best, technology as used by the Infini-Light is semiconductor super luminescent diode (SLD). SLD is similar to an LED source, but can put out >30 times more optical power into the single-mode fiber. The output wavelength range is defined by the composition of semiconductor materials and can be easily tailored to any desired wavelength in the communication window.

 

Ultra Broad Band
The Infini-Light, with all its wavelength options installed, can deliver usable wavelength from 1270nm to 1650nm from one single fiber output. It eliminates the need of combining several different ASE light sources at different wavelength bands externally, reducing the complexity on the manufacturing floor. It also maintains the high optical power of each individual SLD with our proprietary combining technique. Currently, if one wants to use ASE fiber sources to cover a broad wavelength window, he/she needs to use a C/L-band Er ASE source to cover 1530nm to 1610nm, an S-band Th ASE source to cover 1440nm to 1500nm, and an O-band Pr ASE source to cover 1270nm to 1325nm, and there are still “blind spots” between the wavelength windows, like 1325nm to 1440nm, that are still missing. Although Infini-Light has less total optical power than common ASE sources, it can deliver more than -33dBm/nm of minimum optical power density within the entire specified wavelength window. And the power density at wavelength peak of each SLD can reach more than -20dBm/nm. This feature provides an “all-in-one”Light source for testing any WDM components, such as C/L-band DWDM, S- and O-band pump laser combiner and fiber grating, 1310/1550nm WDM, and most importantly the emerging CWDM for metro networks that runs from 1270nm to 1610nm with 20nm of channel spacing. This greatly saves the equipment cost for component/system manufacturers who want to use the same testing setup and switch to different components frequently.

 

Ultra High Power
The Infini-Light uses industrial-leading super luminescent semiconductor diode (SLD) to cover a broad wavelength range with high optical power as mentioned in the previous section. Compared to similar product using conventional LED technology which provides only about -35dBm/nm at the wavelength peaks, the Infini-Light is almost 30 times brighter, which means that it can be split to 30 testing stations and provide the same power density as the conventional LED sources. It also means that Infini-Light can support higher measurement sensitivity during the testing (>40dB of dynamic range with 0.1nm of typical resolution bandwidth) for standard DWDM components. With its high power, it is even possible to make a continuous scanning narrow-band source using a tunable band-pass filter and split the light to multiple-stations, just like a tunable laser but covering a much broader range (>350nm compared to 50nm for a tunable laser). Therefore, one can use a power meter to measure the component spectrum and replace the costly optical spectrum analyzer on every station.

 

Low Degree of Polarization
Although an ASE source can provide broad band light with very low degree of polarization (DOP)[1] <#_ftn1> due to its random nature of the atomic photon emission, the complexity and high cost has put limits on their applications for very broad bandwidth as mentioned before. If one uses SLD or LED as the light source, the polarization state of the output light becomes significant (normally more than 40% for LED and more than 70% for SLD) because of the quantum-well structure of the semiconductor waveguide. Infini-Light uses a proprietary optical power processing technique to eliminate the degree of polarization of the output light from the SLD, achieving typical DOP of less than 10%. This feature is very important for components with high polarization dependent loss (PDL) or wavelength (PDλ), and for power meters or OSAs with high polarization-dependent sensitivity. Therefore, Infini-Light can provide repeatable testing results for each device. In addition, its polarization reduction process is carefully designed so that one can use spectral resolution bandwidth as small as 0.01nm without any power instability or ripple in the spectrum to ensure the testing accuracy. This low DOP feature is a significant difference from other competing products.

 

External Modulation
In research labs sometimes it is desirable to modulate the light source directly and use it with a lock-in amplifier for ultra-high sensitivity optical signal measurement which could be influenced by the room light on a bench-top setup. The ASE sources can not be directly modulated to above 300 Hz due to the long spontaneous emission life time of the atomic elements. Therefore, most ASE sources are not equipped with external modulation capability. The Infini-Light uses semiconductor SLD sources which can be easily modulated by external TTL signals to 2 MHz, sufficient for most lock-in amplifiers and other applications, such as data communications. Higher modulation speed (up to 200 MHz) is possible by using more advanced driving circuits as an upgraded version of this product.

 

Excellent Optical Power Stability
The Infini-Light uses industrial-leading electronic circuits, enclosure design, and thermal management to ensure the power stability of the output light. When maintained at constant room temperature, the output power variation is typically less than 0.02dB within the entire spectral window during one hour of usage. This reduces the need of regular power reference when testing large number of similar devices. In addition, during a dynamic testing environment that needs constant fiber cleaving and splicing, the Infini-Light also incorporates optical isolators to reject external optical reflection from the cleaved fiber ends to eliminate the power instability during testing.

 

Low Cost
As mentioned in the previous sections, one needs to use several different ASE sources to barely achieve coverage from 1270nm to 1610nm and still missing some wavelength bands. In comparison, Infini-Light combines several low cost SLD’s to deliver a truly continuous broad-band optical power in a single unit. This results in a cost reduction of more than 60% from the ASE source approach, and minimizes the maintenance cost of the testing setup. This is the most important advantage for today’s capital-spending sensitive telecomm industry.

 

Conclusion
In summary, the Infini-Light provides the advantages of high power, broad-band, simplicity, high stability, low polarization dependency, and most importantly, low cost for today’s advanced optical fiber component and system manufacturers that gradually migrate to utilize the whole communication windows (O, E, S, C, and L bands from 1270nm to 1650nm). Therefore, the Infini-LightTM will be the only choice of broad-band light source for anyone who wants to maintain a competitive position in the future fiber optics industry.

 

Applications:
●Material Absorption Spectroscopy.
●WDM Components Testing.
●Telecomm and Datacomm Systems.
●Optical Coherence Tomography.
●Optical Fiber Sensors.

 

DM:
Broadband Fiber-Optic Light Source
Near-Infrared Broadband Fiber-Optic Light Source

光通訊

 

Infini-Light 寬帶光源的優勢:

我們為電信與數據通信提供了經濟的高性能寬帶光源,適用於光纖相關產品的生產、測試及認證。這些產品往往需要經過一個較寬波段範圍的波譜測量,例如波分 複用器、分路器、隔離器、循環器、光開關等。為了符合嚴格的工業標 準,Infinon Research 使用一些專用的電子與光學元件來製造Infini-Light 寬帶光源, 即使與業界最領先的產品相比,其性能也具有不可比擬的優勢。接下來詳述Infini-Light寬帶光源的優勢。

 

最佳的技術 
將光傳送進單模光纖有多種技術方式。第一種是使用鎢燈絲來生成白光射線,通過高倍透 鏡將射線集中,傳送進單模光纖。這種類型的光源提供真正的寬帶光源(從UV到IR),它的波譜相對比較平坦。但是,由於燈絲產生的光能量密度有限,單模光纖所能 收集到的能量在1550nm IR 範圍內大約是-55dBm/nm,如果使用普通的光譜分析儀,這麼小的能量不足以支持對DWDM(密集波分複用)的高動態範 圍的測量。第二種技術就是使用發光二極管(LED),它可以將-15dBm的能量全部傳送進單 模光纖。它的波譜是高斯型的,半寬 為~50nm。這意味著波峰的光能量是-35dBm/nm,並且向波峰兩側縮減。儘管它的能量密度可超過白光光源的100倍, 但它在波峰兩側的的能量水平仍然很低,難以適用於目前的 DWDM(密集波分複用)測試系統。第三種方式是放大型自發發射源(ASE),它來自於摻雜稀土粒子的光纖,是由其它波長的光激發的。這種光源在粒子發射的光譜範圍內,可傳送很高的光密度(大於-20dBm/nm)。然而,它的頻譜寬度相對較小(小 於50nm),並且需要摻雜不同粒子來覆蓋不同的波長范圍。最先進的是 Infini-Light 所採用的超級二極管(SLD),SLD 類似於LED 光源,但是可以向單模光纖傳送比LED​​ 光源大30倍的光能量。輸出波長 的範圍可由半導體的組成決定,輕鬆改變成各紅外光通信波段需要的波長。

 

超帶寬
Infini-Light 的產品,安裝了波長選擇器後,可從一個光纖輸出口輸出從1270 到1650nm 的可用光,避免了整合外部不同波段的ASE 光源,減少了加工平台的複雜性。Infini-Light 利用所擁有的整合技術,包含了每一個SLD的能量。 
目前,如果你想用ASE 光源覆蓋寬帶範圍,你需要用一個C/L-band Er ASE 光源來覆蓋從1530nm 到1610nm 的頻段, 一個S-band Th ASE光源來覆蓋從1440nm 到1500nm 的頻段,一個O-band Pr ASE 光源來覆蓋從1270nm 到1325nm的頻段,但是在一些頻段之間還是有“盲點” 存在,如1325nm 到1440nm。儘管在波峰處,Infini-Light 的亮度不及ASE 光源,但它在整個特殊波長范圍內,卻能傳送最小光能量密度超過-33dBm/nm 的光。這種特性為所有WDM元件的測試提供了“all-in-one”光源,例如C/L波段DWDM,S 和O 波段激光泵合成儀和光纖光柵, 1310/1550nm WDM,以及運行於1270nm到1610nm的大都會網絡的新興的CWDM,具有20nm 的頻道間隔。這極大的節省了成本。

 

高能量 
如前所述,Infini-Light 採用先進的優質發光半導體二極管以較高光能來覆蓋較寬波長範圍。與使用傳統LED 技術的同類產品相比,Infini-Light 的亮度幾乎為前者的30倍,這就意味著它可以分割成30 個測試工作台並且提供與傳統的LED光源相同的能量密度。這也意味著,Infini-Light 在標準DWDM 元件測試中可以支持更高靈敏度的測量,(40dB 的動態範圍,0.1nm的光解析度帶寬)。由於它的高能性,它可以配合可調帶通濾波器進行連續的掃描,就像一個可調的激光,但覆蓋了更寬的範圍(350nm,而可調激光為50nm)。因此,可以利用功率表來測量元件的頻譜並可以在每一個工作站上來取代昂貴的光譜分析儀。

 

低偏振度 
因為原子的自發放射無方向性,ASE 光源可以提供極化度很低的寬帶光源,但由於它的複雜性、高成本,如前所述,限制了它在較寬帶寬範圍內的應用。如果使用SLD 或LED 作為光源,由於半導體波導的量子井結構,輸出光線的極化狀態就變特別大。 Infini-Light 採用專有的能量處理技術來降低SLD的輸出光線的極化程度,從而達到低於10% 的極化度。這一性能對於高PDL 或高PDλ的元件是非常重要的,對於高偏振光敏感度的功率表或光譜分析儀也是很重要的。因此,Infini-Light 能提供每一個設備的可複驗測試結果。除此之外,極化降低的處理過程是經過了精心的策劃,因此光譜分解帶寬可達0.02nm,而且不存在能量不穩定的情況,從而保證了測試的精確度。這種低極化的特性是與競爭對手的產 品的顯著的不同之處。

 

外置調製器 
在一些科研實驗室,人們很希望直接對光源進行調製並且使用鎖定放大器來實現極高靈敏 度的光信號測量,因為這些信號會被房間的光線影響。由於原子器件的長期自發發射週 期,ASE光源不能直接調製到300Hz以上。因此,大多數ASE源沒有配備外置調製的能力。 Infini-Light 採用半導體SLD 光源,這種光源可被外部TTL信號較容易的調製到10kHz, 充分滿足大多數鎖定放大器與其他設備的需要。

 

卓越的光能穩定性 
Infini-Light 採用工業領先的電子電路、外觀設計以及溫度控制技術以確保輸出光的能量穩定性。當保證室溫恆定時,連續使用一小時,在所有波段範圍內,其輸出能量的變化量一般小於0.02dB。當測試大量同類設備時,這種特性可大大降低對參考能量的依賴性。此外,在需要不斷的劈開與熔焊光纖的動態測試環境中,Infini-Light 用光隔離來阻擋光纖終端進入的外部光學反射,從而降低測試過程中光的不穩定性。

 

低成本 
如前所述,需要使用幾個不同的ASE 光源來覆蓋從1270nm到1610nm的波段,然而仍舊漏掉 一些波段,而Infini-Light 則是通過一個儀器,整合了幾個低成本的SLD來傳送真正連續波段的光能量,與使用ASE光源的方式相比節省了60%費用,並且最大限度降低了維護費用。就對先期投資敏感的電訊工業而言,這是最大的優點。

 

結論 
總而言之,Infini-Light 提供了高能、寬帶、方便、高穩定性、低偏振度等優點。對於使用頻段為全部通訊頻段(從1270nm 到1650nm 的O,E,S,C和L波段)的先進光纖組件與系 統生產商,最重要的是低成本這一優點。因此,Infini-Light 將成為任何想在將來光纖業佔據有利競爭位置的公司的首選。

 

應用範圍:

●材料吸收光譜。
●WDM組件測試。
●電信和數據通信系統。
●光學同調性斷層攝影術。
●光纖傳感器。

 

DM:

寬帶光纖光源
近紅外寬帶光源